share

IEA Wind Task 34 (WREN) Webinar on Bats and Wind Energy


When:
September 3, 2014 @ 10:30 am – 11:30 am

The International Energy Agency’s Wind Task 34, also known as WREN (Working Together to Resolve Environmental Effects of Wind Energy), will hold the first of a quarterly webinar series on Wednesday September 3 at 2:30 pm UTC (7:30 PT/8:30 MT/9:30 CT/10:30 ET).

This webinar series supports WREN’s goal to facilitate international collaboration that advances global understanding of environmental effects of offshore and land-based wind energy development.

The speakers and presentations are:

  • Dr. Cris Hein from the United States who will present “Strategies to reduce bat fatalities at wind energy facilities
  • Dr. Oliver Behr from Germany who will present on “Measuring and reducing the number of bat fatalities at wind turbines in Europe

In this hour long webinar, Dr. Hein and Dr. Behr will each provide a 20-minute presentation which will be followed by Q&A.

Participants can join the webinar directly at: https://www.mymeetings.com/nc/join.php?i=PW8398971&p=4192129&t=c

Participant passcode: 4192129#

The webinar link will allow you access to the slides and visuals, but you must dial in to the phone line (numbers available here) to hear the audio during the webinar.

Speaker Biographies:

Dr. Oliver Behr received his Masters in Zoology in 2001 and his Ph.D. in Biology in 2005 from the University of Erlangen, Germany. Since 2005, Dr. Behr has worked on environmental impact studies and data analyses for several wind energy projects. Between 2006–2009, Dr. Behr served as the Project Director for the “Development of methods to analyze and mitigate collision risk of bats at on-shore wind turbines”, a project funded by the German Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety. Since 2011, Dr. Behr has worked on 2 follow-up projects funded by the same Ministry.

Dr. Cris Hein is the Director of the Bats and Wind Energy Program for Bat Conservation International (BCI) and the Program Coordinator for the Bats and Wind Energy Cooperative. Dr. Hein received his Masters in Biology from Texas State University in 2001, and his Ph.D. in Forestry and Natural Resources from the University of Georgia in 2008. Dr. Hein has been studying bat behavior and ecology for 15 years and bats and wind energy issues for 7 years. Prior to working for BCI, Dr. Hein was the lead bat biologist for ABR, Inc., Environmental Research and Services.